Conrad Wasko awarded the best PhD in Water Engineering globally

Established under the Lorenz G. Straub Memorial Fund, this award is given for the most meritorious thesis in hydraulic engineering, hydrology, ecohydraulics, or related fields. The Lorenz G. Straub is a competitive international prize, and nominations may be made by any recognized affiliated program in the world.

In the past 52 years, only four scientists from Australian universities have received this prestigious award. Wasko's PhD supervisor, Professor Ashish Sharma, says Conrad deserved it in spades, given the multiple journal publications including two in the Nature publishing group, several invitations to deliver lectures internationally, and the significant impact his work made on engineering design under a changing climate. Conrad is the latest in a long list of overachieving PhDs in the Hydrology and Water Resources group at UNSW, ranked 6th internationally in recent discipline specific rankings on the basis of research outcomes. More details on the group, its recent PhDs, and the publications each PhD led to, are available at

Conrad will be presented with a Straub Award medal and a monetary gift on November 13, 2018 in a special ceremony in The University of Minnesota.

Share this